Jackson County has a total area of 495 square miles adjacent to Haywood, Macon, Transylvania, and Swain Counties in North Carolina and Oconee County in South Carolina. Jackson County contains or borders some 45 miles of Blue Ridge Parkway and adjoins the Cherokee Indian Reservation. There are four incorporated municipalities and three unincorporated communities within Jackson County.

The Jackson County Planning Department enforces the following planning ordinances that can be found on Jackson County’s Municode:

  • Land Development Ordinance
  • Sign Ordinance
  • Adult Establishments
  • Historic Preservation
  • Outdoor Lighting
  • Subdivision Ordinance
  • Wireless Communications Ordinance
  • Industrial Development Ordinance
  • Manufactured Home Parks Ordinance
  • Airport Hazard Regulations

Jackson County Municode

© Jackson County Planning Department/Website by Hazel Digital Media